Hand #127: Dietrich Fast Wins the WPT L.A. Poker Classic ($1,000,800*)

Mar 4, 2016

Champion Dietrich Fast
Dietrich Fast raises to 450,000, Mike Shariati moves all in for 4,850,000, and Fast asks for an exact count.

Fast tanks for more than a minute before he calls with Club AHeart 9, and Shariati turns over Diamond ADiamond 8. Shariati needs to improve to stay alive.

The board comes Spade ASpade JClub 4Club 8Heart J — Shariati turns two pair to take the lead, only to see it get counterfeited on the river. Dietrich Fast wins the pot — and the WPT title — with two pair, aces and jacks, and his nine kicker.

Mike Shariati finishes as the runner-up, earning $656,540. Shariati officially takes the lead in the Hublot WPT Player of the Year race with 2,400 points, while his nearest competitor (Cate Hall) has 1,550 points.

Dietrich Fast wins the WPT L.A. Poker Classic, earning $1,000,800, which includes his entry into the season-ending WPT Tournament of Champions. Fast also receives a WPT Champions Trophy, an LAPC Remington trophy, a Hublot King Power Unico watch, and a pair of gold Monster 24K Headphones. Fast’s name will be enscribed on the one-and-only WPT Champions Cup, alongside every other WPT champion from all 14 seasons.

Congratulations to Dietrich Fast!

1st:  Dietrich Fast  –  $1,000,800*
2nd:  Mike Shariati  –  $656,540
3rd:  Alex Keating  –  $423,890
4th:  Sam Soverel  –  $316,440
5th:  Farid Jattin  –  $238,070
6th:  Anthony Spinella  –  $191,250

* First prize amount includes a $15,000 seat into the season-ending WPT Tournament of Champions.

Recent Tweets @WPT