Hand #188: Balakrishna Patur Wins the WPT L.A. Poker Classic ($1,015,000); Matas Cimbolas Finishes as Runner Up ($600,060)

May 18, 2021

Champion Balakrishna Patur

Matas Cimbolas moves all in for 3,700,000, and Balakrishna Patur thinks for a while before he calls with Heart ADiamond 9.

Cimbolas turns over Diamond KClub 6, and he needs to improve to stay alive.

The board comes Diamond JDiamond 7Diamond 2Spade 8Heart 5, and Cimbolas flops a diamond flush draw, but improves no further. Balakrishna Patur wins the pot — and the WPT title — with ace high.

Champion Balakrishna Patur

Matas Cimbolas finishes as the runner-up, earning $600,060.

Balakrishna Patur wins the WPT L.A. Poker Classic, earning $1,015,000. Patur also receives a WPT Champions Trophy, a Remington trophy from Commerce Casino, a Hublot Big Bang Steel Watch, and a set of Baccarat Crystal. Patur’s name will be engraved on the WPT Champions Cup alongside the WPT Champions from all 18 seasons of the World Poker Tour.

Congratulations to Balakrishna Patur!

1st:  Balakrishna Patur  –  $1,015,000*
2nd:  Matas Cimbolas  –  $600,060
3rd:  James Carroll  –  $431,585
4th:  Scott Hempel  –  $323,485
5th:  Ka Kwan Lau  –  $243,330
6th:  Upeshka De Silva  –  $185,330

Champion Balakrishna Patur

* First place usually includes the $15,000 seat into the WPT Tournament of Champions. However, due to the pandemic, the TOC will not take place this year. As such, the winner will receive the $15,000 as part of the first place amount in cash.

Photography by Joe Giron / PokerPhotoArchive.com

Recent Tweets @WPT